2017 Lou Henson Award

April 4, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- Monmouth’s Justin Robinson is the recipient of the 2017 Lou Henson award.

Robinson averaged 19.7 points per game and helped lead Monmouth to its second consecutive Metro Atlantic Athletic Association regular-season championship. 

The MAAC’s scoring leader also won his second straight Conference Player of the Year award and finished his career ranked in the top-five at Monmouth in scoring, assists, steals, three pointers, field goals made, and minutes played. 

The 5-foot-8 senior scored in double-figures in 32 of 34 games this season, which included a career-high 40 points in a win over Siena on Feb. 13. He also had a career-best eight 3-pointers in the game.

“What he may lack in height he made up for with heart and desire,” said’s Angela Lento. “He may play at the mid-major level, but there is nothing mid-major about his game. Justin Robinson is the best player to ever put on a Monmouth uniform.”

Robinson became the first Monmouth player to eclipse the 2,000 point plateau.since the program made the jump to Division I in 1983.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I mid-major player. 

Lou Henson coached 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Ian Baker New Mexico State
Evan Bradds Belmont
Jarrell Brantley Charleston
C.J. Bryce UNCW
Chris Clemons Campbell
T.J. Cromer ETSU
Mike Daum South Dakota State
Chris Flemmings UNCW
Nana Foulland Bucknell
Jimmy Hall Kent State
Tyler Hall Montana State
Kevin Hervey UT Arlington
Quinton Hooker North Dakota
Marcus Keene Central Michigan
Tim Kempton Lehigh
Jock Landale Saint Mary's
Paris Lee Illinois State
Keon Johnson Winthrop
Drew McDonald Northern Kentucky
Markis McDuffie Wichita State
Eric Mika BYU
Dallas Moore North Florida
Alec Peters Valparaiso
Justin Robinson Monmouth
Landry Shamet Wichita State
Devin Sibley Furman
Erik Thomas New Orleans
Rashawn Thomas Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Jacob Wiley Eastern Washington
T.J. Williams Northeastern


The Lou Henson National Player of the Year Award, which is presented annually to the top mid-major player in division I college basketball, honors the former Illinois and New Mexico State head coach who won 775 games in 41 seasons.
Henson is the winningest coach in Illinois basketball history with 423 victories. During his 21 seasons (1975-1996), Henson led the Fighting Illini to 16 postseason appearances, including 12 NCAA tournaments and a Final Four appearance in 1989.
Henson, who is also the all-time winningest coach in New Mexico State history with 289 victories, is one of only 11 coaches to take two different schools to the NCAA Final Four. His teams have made 19 NCAA appearances and four NIT appearances.
Players on teams from the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, ASUN, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, MEAC, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, SWAC, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast.
The recipient of of the 2021 award will be announced on April 1.

The Lou Henson award committee is a 30 member panel, consisting of five current division I head coaches, five retired head coaches, 10 current athletic directors and/or conference administrators, five members of the national media and five staff members. 
The Lou Henson award is presented annually to the top division I mid-major player as voted on by the award committee. Eligible players must in the following conferences or leagues: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Independents, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast and Western Athletic.
NOTE: The basis for mid-major designation is based on the criteria established by the Mid-Major Top 25 ® which was created by and is a registered trademark.
November: Preseason Watch List announced
January: Mid-Season Watch List announced
March: Finalist announced
April 2:: Lou Henson National Player of the Year announced
The recipients of the 17 national awards, presented by, are announced annually at the site of the NCAA men’s division I basketball championship.
The recipient of the 2018 Lou Henson award will be announced on April 2 in San Antonio, site of the Men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

Champign Image
Champign Image
Champign Image