About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Lou Henson Award

USC Upstate's Ty Greene accepts the 2015 Lou Henson award at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX -- Stephen F. Austin’s Thomas Walkup is the recipient of the 2016 Lou Henson National Player of the Year award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top mid-major player.

For the season, Walkup averaged 18.1 points, 6.9 rebounds and 4.5 assists. Ranking among the top five in no fewer than seven statistical categories in the Southland Conference, Walkup also established new SFA single-season records in points (615), field goals made (217), free throws made (171) and steals (71).

The 6-foot-4 senior helped the ‘Jacks to 28-6 record which included an 18-0 record in Southland Conference play as well as the most lopsided 14-seed over three-seed upset in NCAA Tournament history.

In the first round win over West Virginia, Walkup scored 33 points for the 14th-seeded ‘Jacks in their 70-56 win over No. 8-ranked West Virginia, pushing SFA forward into the round of 32 for just the second time in program history. 

Earlier this season he registered SFA’s first triple-double in 43 seasons in an 84-58 win at Incarnate Word. He scored 12 points and added career-highs in rebounds (15) and assists (10) in just 28 minutes of work. He ended his career as the program’s all-time leading scorer (1,744 points) and rebounder (754) as well as having the most field goals made (633) and most wins in a career (116).

Lou Henson coached 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four

NOTE: Kay Felder (Oakland), Justin Robinson (Monmouth), Domantas Sabonis (Gonzaga) and Fred VanVleet (Wichita State) were named to the Lute Olson All-America Team.


Ron Baker 6-4 Sr. Wichita State
D.J. Balentine 6-2 Sr, Evansville
Anthony Beane 6-2 Sr. Southern Illinois
Joel Bolomboy 6-9 Sr. Weber State
Nathan Boothe 6-9 Sr. Toledo
Evans Bradds 6-7 Jr. Belmont
Josh Braun 6-4 So. Grand Canyon
John Brown 6-8 Sr. High Point
Antonio Campbell 6-10 Jr. Ohio
Kyle Collinsworth 6-6 Sr. BYU
Stephen Croone 6-0 Sr. Furman
A.J. English 6-4 Sr. Iona
Nick Faust 6-6 Sr. Long Beach State
Chris Flemmings 6-5 Jr. UNCW
Juan'ya Green 6-2 Sr. Hofstra
Quinton Hooker 6-0 Jr. North Dakota
Stefan Jankovic 6-11 Jr. Hawaii
Tim Kempton 6-10 Jr. Lehigh
Max Landis 6-2 Sr. IPFW
Maodo Lo 6-3 Sr. Columbia
Shawn Long 6-9 Sr. UL-Lafayette
Damon Lynn 5-11 Jr/ NJIT
Egidijus Mockevicius 6-10 Sr. Evansville
Dallas Moore 6-1 Jr. North Florida
Alec Peters 6-9 Jr. Valparaiso
Justin Sears 6-8 Sr. Yale
Pascal Siakam 6-9 So. New Mexico State
Ethan Telfair 6-0 Jr. Idaho State
Rashawn Thomas 6-8 Jr. Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Thomas Walkup 6-4 Sr. Stephen. F. Austin
Jameel Warney 6-8 Sr. Stony Brook

NOTE: Due to a tie in the voting there is one additional player named to the team

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.