About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2012-13 Lou Henson Award

APRIL 5, 2013


BOSTON (MA) -- Saint Mary's Matthew Dellavedova is the recipient of the 2013 Lou Henson award..

"Matthew was the heart and soul of Saint Mary's basketball," said CollegeInsider.com co-founder Angela Lento. "When the game was on the line, more often than not Dellavedova would deliver."

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years.
When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

NOTE: Ian Clark (Belmont), Ray McCallum (Detroit), Doug McDermott (Creighton), Mike Muscala (Bucknell), Kelly Olynyk (Gonzaga) and Nate Wolters (South Dakota State) were named to the 2013 LUTE OLSON ALL-AMERICA TEAM.


Travis Bader, Oakland
Billy Baron, Canisius
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Tommy Brenton, Stony Brook
Ryan Broekhoff, Valparaiso
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Jackie Carmichael, Illinois State
Will Cherry, Montana
Jake Cohen, Davidson
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
James Ennis, Long Beach
Shane Gibson, Sacred Heart
Juan'ya Green, Niagara
Courtney Hawkins, UC Davis
Tyler Haws, BYU
Troy Huff, North Dakota
Lamont Jones, Iona
Zeke Marshall, Akron
Jake Odum, Indiana State
Jamal Olasewere, LIU-Brooklyn
Keith Rendleman, UNC Wilmington
Augustine Rubit, South Alabama
Colt Ryan, Evansville
Taylor Smith, Stephen F. Austin

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.