About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2014 Lou Henson Award

April 4, 2014


DALLAS, TX -- Mercer's Langston Hall is the recipient of the 2014 Lou Henson award, presented annually to the top mid-major player in Division I college basketball.

Hall led Mercer to a banner year that concluded with a 27-9 record in the NCAA Tournament Round of 32.  Other postseason distinctions that have come Hall's way include Atlantic Sun Player of the Year, Atlantic Sun All-Conference first team honors and Atlantic Sun Tournament MVP.

Hall led Mercer with averages of 14.6 points, 5.4 assists and 1.4 steals per game in 2013-14.  The campaign saw him break the A-Sun conference record for career assists and score the 1,500th point of his career. The senior scored 20 or more in 11 games and registered 10 or more assists on four occasions.  His 201 total assists ranks 16th most nationally and is the second highest single-season total in program history.

Previous recipients of the award include  Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary's 2013), Kyle O'Quinn (Norfolk State 2012), Matt Howard (Butler 2011) and Keith Benson (Oakland 2010).

The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Ike Azotam 6-7 Sr. Quinnipiac
Travis Bader 6-5 Sr. Oakland
George Beamon 6-4 Sr. Manhattan
Taylor Braun 6-7 Sr. North Dakota State
Alec Brown 7-1 Sr. Green Bay
David Brown 6-3 Sr. Western Michigan
Julius Brown 5-10 Jr. Toledo
Glenn Cosey 6-0 Sr. Eastern Kentucky
Torrey Craig 6-6 Sr. USC Upstate
Langston Hall 6-4 Sr. Mercer
Tyler Haws 6-5 Jr. BYU
Troy Huff 6-5 Sr. North Dakota
R.J. Hunter 6-5 So. Georgia State
Jeremy Ingram 6-3 Sr. North Carolina Central
Kareem Jamar 6-5 Sr. Montana
J.J. Mann 6-6 Sr. Belmont
Z. Mason 6-6 Sr. Chattanooga
Javon McCrea 6-7 Sr. Buffalo
Aaric Murray 6-0 Sr. Texas Southern
Jake Odum 6-4 Sr. Indiana State
Jacob Parker 6-6 Jr. Stephen F. Austin
Elfrid Payton 6-3 Jr. Louisiana Lafayette
Devon Saddler 6-2 Sr. Delaware
Wesley Saunders 6-5 Jr. Harvard
Justin Sears 6-8 So. Yale
Kiefer Sykes 5-11 Jr. Green Bay
Jameel Warney 6-8 So. Stony Brook
Jalan West 5-10 So. Northwestern State
Alan Williams 6-8 Jr. UC Santa Barbara
Pendarvis Williams 6-6 Sr. Norfolk State

NOTE: Ronnie Baker (Wichita State), Billy Baron (Canisius) and Cleanthony Early (Wichita State) were named to the Lute Olson All-America Team.

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.