About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us

Trophy Awards

Close the Gap


March 28, 2012


BOSTON, MA -- Norfolk State's Kyle O'Quinn is the recipient of the 2012 Lou Henson National Player of the Year award.

The MEAC Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and MEAC Tournament Most Outstanding Performer, O'Quinn averaged 15.9 points, 10.3 rebounds and 2.7 blocks per game while leading the Spartans to a 26-10 record, the program's first-ever MEAC title and a second-round NCAA Tournament win over No. 2 seed Missouri.

"Kyle had an outstanding season even before Norfolk State beat Missouri," said Angela Lento, co-founder of CollegeInsider.com. "His performance in the NCAA tournament was just a sampling of the type of season he had. It wasn't a validation, but rather a showcase of his season."

A second-team All-MEAC selection as a sophomore, O'Quinn was a first team selection last season and was named MEAC Defensive Player of the Year.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The award was announced at halftime of the 2012 CollegeInsider.com Postseason championship game (CIT) and presented at the CollegeInsider.com awards banquet in New Orleans, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.


O.D. Anosike 6-8 Jr. Siena
Kent Bazemore 6-5 Sr. Old Dominion
Julian Boyd 6-7 Jr. LIU-Brooklyn
Will Cherry 6-1 Jr. Montana
Torrey Craig 6-6 So. USC Upstate
Matthew Dellavedova 6-4 Jr. Saint Mary's
Laron Dendy 6-9 Sr. Middle Tennessee
Shane Gibson 6-2 Jr. Sacred Heart
Reggie Hamilton 5-11 Sr. Oakland
Frantz Massenat 6-4 So. Drexel
Ray McCallum 6-2 So. Detroit
Tony Mitchell 6-8 Fr. North Texas
Dominique Morrison 6-6 Sr. Oral Roberts
Kevin Murphy 6-6 Sr. Tennessee Tech
Mike Muscala 6-11 Jr. Bucknell
Charles Odum 6-0 Sr. Portland State
Kyle O'Quinn 6-10 Sr. Norfolk State
Ryan Pearson 6-6 Sr. George Mason
Joe Ragland 6-0 Sr. Wichita State
Lamarcus Reed III 6-5 Sr. UT-Arlington
Zack Rosen 6-1 Sr. Pennsylvania
Colt Ryan 6-5 Jr. Evansville
Gerardo Suero 6-4 Jr. Albany
Casper Ware 5-10 Sr. Long Beach State
Nate Wolters 6-4 Jr. South Dakota State


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2011 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Prominent Ticket Service has the lowest prices on all basketball tickets including Big East Tournament tickets, NBA All Star Game tickets, New York Knicks tickets, and New Jersey Nets tickets! PTS also has the web's cheapest prices on Super Bowl tickets, Super Bowl XLVI tickets, New York Red Bulls tickets, and much more!


Buy Final Four tickets and BCS Championship tickets at ABC ticket broker as well as Penn State football tickets and Philadelphia Eagles tickets.



Empire Tickets has your NFL Season Tickets for all NFL teams including Atlanta Falcons Tickets, NCAA Football Tickets including BCS Championship Tickets, and College Basketball Tickets including Final Four Tickets.


LinesMaker.com is a global leader in online sports betting, poker, horses and casino games. We have more betting options, more cash bonuses, more loyalty rewards and dozens of unique betting specials. Get the best Odds and Sports Betting Lines, don't wait and JOIN US now, it's free!