About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2018 Lou Henson Award

April 2, 2018


SAN ANTONIO, TX -- Loyola’s Clayton Custer is the recipient of the 2018 Lou Henson National Player of the Year award.
The 6-foot-1 junior really emerged in his second season with the Ramblers. The former Iowa State transfer led the team in a number of offensive categories, including scoring (13.2 ppg), three-point percentage (.451), assists (135) and steals (50). 
He also ranked among the Top 10 in the Missouri Valley Conference in those four categories as well as field goal percentage (.544), free throw percentage (.806) and three-point field goals made per game (1.9).  
“Clayton Custer was robbed, not being named to the preseason All-Missouri Valley Conference team,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “His importance to the team’s success this season extended well beyond the box score. The Ramblers were a different team with him on the floor.”
Loyola was 2-3 when Custer was sidelined with an ankle injury at midseason. After his return the team went 22-1 before falling to Michigan in the national semifinals. 
Custer became the first Loyola player to be named Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year and he helped lead the Ramblers to the Final Four for just the second time in school history.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I mid-major player.

Lou Henson coached 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Trae Bell-Haynes 6-2 Sr. Vermont
Bogdan Bliznyuk 6-6 Sr. Eastern Washington
Desonta Bradford 6-4 Sr. ETSU
Keith Braxton 6-4 So. Saint Francis PA
Tookie Brown 5-11 Jr. Georgia Southern
Joe Chealey 6-4 Sr. Charleston
Chris Clemons 5-9 Jr. Campbell
Clayton Custer 6-1 Jr. Loyola Chicago
Mike Daum 6-9 Jr. South Dakota State
Tre-Shaun Fletcher 6-7 Sr. Toledo
Blake Francis 6-0 So. Wagner
Jerrick Harding 6-1 So. Weber State
Brandon Goodwin 6-2 Sr. FGCU
Max Heidegger 6-2 So. UC Santa Barbara
Kevin Hervey 6-9 Sr. UT Arlington
Jordan Howard 5-11 Sr. Central Arkansas
John Konchar 6-5 Jr. Fort Wayne
Nathan Knight 6-10 So. William & Mary
Jock Landale 6-11 Sr. Saint Mary's
Zach Lofton 6-4 Sr. New Mexico State
Jairus Lyles 6-2 Sr. UMBC
Fletcher Magee 6-4 Jr.. Wofford
CJ Massinburg 6-3 Jr. Buffalo
Garrison Mathews 6-5 Jr. Lipscomb
Drew McDonald 6-7 Jr. Northern Kentucky
Matt Mooney 6-3 Jr. South Dakota
Matt Morgan 6-2 Jr. Cornell
Kendrick Nunn 6-3 Sr. Oakland
Vasa Pusica 6-5 Jr. Northeastern
Grant Riller 6-3 So. Charleston
Junior Robinson 5-5 Sr. Mount St. Mary's
Devin Sibley 6-2 Sr. Furman
D'Marcus Simonds 6-3 So. Georgia State
Andre Spight 6-3 Sr. Northern Colorado
Jonathan Stark 6-0 Sr. Murray State
Zach Thomas 6-7 Sr. Bucknell
James Thompson IV 6-10 Jr. Eastern Michigan
Seth Towns 6-7 So. Harvard
Reed Timmer 6-1 Sr. Drake
Bryce Washington 6-6 Sr. Louisiana


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.